Honesty

“We cannot be ourselves unless we know ourselves.  But self-knowledge is impossible when thoughtless and automatic activity keeps our souls in confusion.” –Thomas Merton

Honesty is important.  It is vital for freedom.  One of the hardest things I’ve had to do is to learn to be honest with myself.  Honest about my questions.  Honest about my doubts.  Honest about my failings.  The absolute hardest, though, is to be honest about my successes and my good qualities.  

As hard as it is to be honest about both the bad AND the good, that’s what I want in my life.  I want to live honestly.  Be myself.  Live intentionally.  I think this ties into my earlier post about experiencing life.  I can sit all day and think about who I am or who I seem to be and write pages and pages and pages of self-analysis in my journal…but until I go out and start experiencing things and testing my limits, I’ll never really know who I am and what I can do.  I hate saying that here because someone will read it (I know my mom does) and make me go out and do something.  And honestly….that just sounds scary and uncomfortable right now.

What's on your mind?

